Sassy J [ LP : Patchwork ]

RHMC 004
Record New / Cover New
June 2021
Rush Hour announces their second artist compilation Patchwork, curated by one of the label’s most loved family members, Sassy J. The Swiss DJ is the very embodiment of passion and long-standing dedication to the craft of the DJing, but also to the community surrounding the music that she lives and breathes. For the past fourteen years Sassy J has run the Patchwork night in her native Bern and in London, with guests ranging from Theo Parrish and Little Dragon to Floating Points and MF Doom invited to share their respective musical visions. Her collaborative approach stands out in a DJ world that is too often weighted in favour of promoting the individual. This compilation grows out that unique sensitivity, foregrounding a theory of curation that centres on long-term bonds, articulated through Sassy J’s personal relationships with the contributing artists. Patchwork speaks to the grass roots values that Sassy J espouses, showcasing music by many of the artists that have joined her throughout the years in clubs, on the radio, and at home. It is an expression of Sassy J’s individual musical path that casts its gaze firmly in the future: Patchwork is made up almost entirely of new and unreleased songs that are exclusive to this collection. Patchwork captures a sound that has continued to evolve in its restless search for new musical directions. Across thirteen tracks we find forward thinking electronic music rubbing elbows with cosmic jazz and deep percussion workouts from Brazil and beyond. "This is the compilation of the year!" - DJ Spinna



A1 –Farrah Boulé – Mother Of Mantras – Vocals, Other [Mantra] – Farrah Boulé 0:59
A2 –Warm (15) – Blue Sunrise – Written-By, Producer – Ron Trent 5:18
A3 –2000Black* – Plastic Jam – Producer, Written-By – Dego, Kaidi TathamWritten-By – D. McFarlane*, K. Tatham* 5:48
B1 –Hanna – Spaceland – Written-By, Producer – Warren Harris 5:56
B2 –Alex Attias & Sassy J Present OJA – Jelly Bubble Rise – Written-By, Producer – Alex Attias, Judith Biffiger 6:01
C1 –Nu-Era* – Mirror Images – Written-By – D. McFarlane*, M. Clair*Written-By, Producer – Dego, Marc Mac 6:09
C2 –GB – The Projector – Producer – GBWritten-By – Gabriel Reyes-Whittaker 5:31
D1 –Aardvarck – Aap Noot – Written-By, Producer – Mike Kivits 3:16
D2 –Mr Fingers* – Survivor – Words By, Music By, Instrumentation By, Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals – Larry Heard 4:42
D3 –Georgia Anne Muldrow – Always – Words By, Music By, Instrumentation By, Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals – Georgia Anne Muldrow 3:24

Bonus 7inch
A1 –Carlos Niño & Friends – Mushroooooomslive – Featuring – Jamire Williams, Josh Johnson (13)Written-By – Carlos Niño & Friends 4:31
A2 –Ivan ‘Mamão’ Conti* – Amazon Orison – Words By, Music By, Instrumentation By, Vocals – Ivan Miguel Conti Maranhão* 2:47
B1 –Wah-Chu-Ku – Phereo In The House – Written-By, Producer – Tony Nwachukwu 4:46


Can't find the product you are looking for.