Orchestre Super Borgou de Parakou [The Bariba Sound: 1970 - 1976]


Format : Cd / New / Compilation
Label : Analog Africa
Genre : Afro


Analog Africa return to Benin, and the sweetly psychedelic, electrified Afro Beat and Highlife sounds of Orchestre Super Borgou de Parakou - stars of the label's much loved 'African Scream Contest' compilation. Blazing organ solos, supremely loose drumming and tight, melodic guitars are at the core of 'The Bariba Sound 1970-1976', but it's the inimitably complex and unconventional arrangements, playing and vibe (compared to commonly perceived Western standards, at least) that makes this such a remarkable and valuable reissue.For even the the casual modern "Afro" observer, it's pretty crucial for the lieks of 'Abakpé's deadly breakbeats and uninhibited organ and guitar dialogue, or the tucked-in drum shuffle and simmering chords on 'A Na Gan Garo Ka Nam', and not least the hard panned chants and bizarre swirls of organ on 'Ko Guere'.

1. Bariba Soul - "Gandigui"
2. Bariba Soul - Wegne Nda M'Banda
3. Pachanga Fon - Me Ton Le Gbe
4. Afro Beat Bariba - Abakpe
5. Pop Bariba - Guessi-Guere-Guessi
6. Folklore Dendi - Sembe Sembe Boudou
7. Afro Beat Bariba - A Na Gan Garo Ka Nam
8. Pachanga Dendi - Bori Yo Se Mon Baani
9. Folklore Dendi - Aske
10. Folklore Bariba - Ko Guere
11. Cavacha Dendi - Abeke Klouklou
12. Afro Beat Dendi - Dadon Gabou Yo Sa Be No 2
13. Soul Dendi - Hanoubian Gabou
14. Boucher Dendi - Binin Hounnin
15. Cavacha Bariba - Adiza Claire

Additional information